Frank Lübeck   

[Deutsch]

Software

A large part of my work is devoted to the development of software packages. All published packages are free software in the sense that they are distributed with full source code and that it is allowed to reuse the code or to change and further develop it.

Computer Algebra

CHEVIE

I'm a co-developer of this computer algebra package for computing in and with Coxeter groups, Iwahori-Hecke algebras, Chevalley groups and related structures and their representations. This package is based on the systems GAP and Maple.

GAP

GAP is an internationally developed computer algebra system which allows applications in many areas of algebra. I'm participating in its development in various ways: Maintenance and further developments of the C-kernel, the documentation system, parts of the GAP library, interfaces to the GAP packages, ...; infrastructural work like Web/FTP server, distribution of GAP packages, releases of new versions, ...; as member of the GAP-Council; advice for the development of further packages; ...

EDIM - elementary divisors of integer matrices

A GAP package providing several functions for computing elementary divisors of large integer matrices. In particular there are implementations of the algorithms described in this article.

GAPDoc - writing GAP documentation

(with Max Neunhöffer) This is a meta-package for GAP, which defines a markup language for writing GAP documentation. It also provides programs for generating several output formats (text/PDF/HTML) from GAPDoc documents.

Browse - browsing tables in GAP

(with Thomas Breuer ) This is a meta GAP package which provides an interactive display of tables (e.g. character tables). It contains an interface to the ncurses-library which also makes many other applications possible.

FUtil - F's utilities

In this not yet officially released GAP package I'll distribute utilities for use with GAP.

GAP for Linux via rsync

I'm offering a distribution of GAP for Linux systems which provides a fully compiled and configured GAP with two simple commands. It also can be updated any time with one simple command.

Big GAP 3 Jobs, and Simplified GAP 3 Installation

A GAP 3 executable for Linux, slightly patched, optimized for i686 and statically linked for jobs of 2 GByte or more. A single GAP 3 archive with bug fixes applied, compiled manuals and some executables.

GAP Interface to SYMMETRICA programs computing Specht modules

The archive spechtSYMMETRICA.tar.gz contains GAP code using SYMMETRICA programs from here to compute matrices of Specht modules of symmetric groups. Unpacking creates a directory spechtSYMMETRICA, then read the INSTALL inside. Linux only.

Parallel Computing

DC - direct condense

(with Max Neunhöffer) This package provides a robust system for computing huge orbits under the operation of groups. This uses several server and client processes running on a (inhomgeneous) network of computers. This is based on an algorithm described in this article. Parts of the code which is written in C may be useful for other applications as well.

Teaching

OKUSON

(with Max Neunhöffer) A system for administrating exercise courses via the web. A special feature are individual exercise sheets with exercises which are automatically graded by the OKUSON system.

OKUSON is implemented in my favorite script language Python. It contains some independently useful modules, for example the web server which serves these pages.

Misc

memtst

A very simple program for testing memory hardware. We had several examples of computers with very rare bit errors (say once a week with long running jobs). While the standard tests with 'memtest/memtest86' did not detect memory errors, this program ran into errors every 1 to 30 minutes.

We use this for testing every new or repaired machine.

Just download the file via the link above. Hints on compilation are in the file header. Calling without argument gives usage information.


Last updated: Wed Jun 13 19:53:55 2012 (CET)

Frank Lübeck   

[English]

Software

Ein großer Teil meiner Arbeit besteht aus der Entwicklung von Software-Paketen. Alle veröffentlichen Pakete sind freie Software, in dem Sinne, dass sie mit vollständigem Quellcode verteilt werden und das der Code wiederverwendet oder verändert und weiterentwickelt werden darf.

Computer Algebra

CHEVIE

Ich bin ein Mitentwickler dieses Computeralgebra Paketes zum Rechnen in und mit Coxetergruppen, Iwahori-Hecke-Algebren, Chevalley-Gruppen sowie verwandten Strukturen und ihren Darstellungen. Das Paket basiert auf den Systemen GAP und Maple.

GAP

GAP ist ein international entwickeltes Computer Algebra System, das Anwendungen in vielen Bereichen der Algebra erlaubt. Ich helfe auf verschiedene Weise bei der Weiterentwicklung mit: Wartung und Weiterentwicklung des C-Kernels, des Dokumentationssystems, Teilen der GAP-Library und der Schnittstelle zu den GAP-Paketen, ...; Infrastrukturarbeit an Web/FTP-Server, Verteilung der aktuellen GAP-Pakete, Veröffentlichung neuer Versionen,...; Mitglied des GAP-Council; Hilfestellung bei der Entwicklung neuer Pakete; ...

EDIM - elementary divisors of integer matrices

Ein GAP Paket mit verschiedenen Funktionen zur Berechnung von Elementarteilern ganzzahliger Matrizen. Insbesondere enthält es Implementierungen der Algorithmen, die in diesem Artikel beschrieben sind.

GAPDoc - writing GAP documentation

(mit Max Neunhöffer) Dies ist ein Meta-Paket für GAP, das eine Sprache zum Schreiben von GAP Dokumentation definiert. Außerdem enthält es Programme, die GAPDoc Dokumente in Ausgabeformate (Text/PDF/HTML) verwandelt.

Browse - browsing tables in GAP

(mit Thomas Breuer) Dies ist ein GAP-Paket zur interaktiven Anzeige von Tabellen (z.B. Charaktertafeln), enthält Schnittstelle zur ncurses-Bibliothek, die auch viele andere Anwendungen ermöglicht.

FUtil - F's utilities

In diesem noch nicht offiziell veröffentlichten Paket verteile ich einige nützliche Funktionen für GAP Benutzer.

GAP für Linux via rsync

Ich biete eine Distribution von GAP für Linux Rechner an, die mit zwei Kommandos ein vollständig kompiliertes GAP inklusive aller verfügbaren Pakete bietet. Diese ist auch jederzeit durch ein einfaches Kommando auf den neuesten Stand zu bringen.

Große GAP 3 Jobs, und vereinfachte GAP 3 Installation

Ein kompiliertes GAP 3 für Linux, mit i686 Optimierungen, leicht abgeänderter Code, so dass Jobs mit 2 GByte oder mehr möglich sind. Ein kombiniertes GAP 3 Archiv mit installierten Bugfixes, kompiliertem Manual und vorkompilierten Kerneln.

GAP Schnittstelle zu SYMMETRICA Programmen für Specht Moduln

Das Archiv spechtSYMMETRICA.tar.gz enthält GAP code, der SYMMETRICA Programme von hier benutzt, um Matrizen für Specht Moduln von symmetrischen Gruppen auszurechen. Nur für Linux.

Parallelrechnungen

DC - direct condense

(mit Max Neunhöffer) In diesem Paket ist ein robustes System implementiert, um große Bahnen unter Operation von Gruppen auszurechnen. Hierzu laufen verschiedene Server- und Client-Prozesse auf (inhomogenen) Netzwerken von Rechnern. Der zugrunde liegende Algorithmus ist in diesem Artikel beschrieben. Teile des in C geschriebenen Codes könnten auch für andere Anwendungen interessant sein.

Lehre

OKUSON

(mit Max Neunhöffer) Ein System zur Administration und Durchführung von Übungsveranstaltungen über das Web. Eine Besonderheit sind individuelle Übungsblätter mit Aufgaben, die automatisch vom OKUSON System ausgewertet werden.

OKUSON ist in meiner bevorzugten Skriptsprache Python implementiert, es enthält einige auch anderweitig nützliche Module, zum Beispiel den Webserver, der diese Seiten liefert.

Anderes

memtst

Ein sehr einfaches Programm zum Testen von Speicher-Hardware. Wir hatten mehrere Beispiele, in denen Rechner sehr seltene Bit-Fehler hatten (etwa einmal in einer Woche bei sehr langlaufenden Jobs). Mit den üblichen 'memtest/memtest86' Tests sind keine Speicherfehler entdeckt worden. Dieses Programm ist dagegen regelmäßig innerhalb von 1 bis 30 Minuten in einen Fehler gelaufen.

Wir benutzen dieses Programm zum Testen jedes neuen oder reparierten Rechners.

Einfach über den obigen Link herunterladen. Hinweise zum Kompilieren sind im Kopf der Datei. Aufruf ohne Argument erklärt die Bedienung.


Zuletzt geändert: Mi 13.06.2012, 17:53:55 (UTC)